Ron’s Ragg Raglan

19 Oct

If you read the Charmed Knits post then you already know that I l-o-v-e Ron Weasley and his ragamuffin family! When I saw this pattern in the Charmed Knits: Projects for Fans of Harry Potter, I knew that this would easily have to be a project in the nearest future.

Ron’s Ragg Raglan

Of course, if Molly Weasley had made Ron’s Raglan for me, it would’ve had an “A” on it….so it does!

This was the first time I’ve worked with baby alpaca, and let me tell you it was treat for my sheep wool-familiar fingers…..my next first was buttons buttons whose got the buttons….I got the buttons….from the forest. I love to hike in this beautiful redwood forest I am so blessed to live in, and there are always down trees from the rainy season. Madrone…do you know it? Madrone is a magical tree. It’s gnarly limbs twist and turn as it reaches towards the sunlight around the towering redwoods. The reddish orange bark is smooth and rich. The sometimes red insides gleam with a little olive oil polish….buttons…ah yes. I knew I needed perfect buttons for this charmed sweater. I made them out of magical madrone limbs. Cut and drilled each one with care. They turned out beautifully.

Ron’s Ragg Raglan

I made it into a bit of a turtleneck so I could flop the neck down, button it to the other side, or have it snuggling my neck for ski season. I also made the ribbing around the sleeves and waiste double the length it called for, as I like my things a little longer than usual.